Day 2 at the Elimination Station

Four four days straight, I managed to pass Exit 12 without so much of a word about making a pit stop on ‘muderous-roe’, the restaurant-saturated street on the way to our house.  I resisted the urge to kick this diet to the curb and sink my teeth into a juicy, greasy chicken sandwich.  Instead, I went home, pulled out a few salmon fillets, veggies and big boy portabellas.  I was rocking it in my kitchen.  And then day five came along….

After my four days of elimination zen, I broke down.  I was huuuuungry!  My body was screaming, “FEED ME!!!”  Is it even possible to live without citrus, potatoes, eggplants, peppers, nuts and seeds, gluten anything, beef, chicken, soy, beans of any kind, dairy, sugar, and canola oil?  And the list goes on.

I have to admit that I didn’t think I’d make it four days on this restrictive diet, but I had the drive, I was commited all the way up to my first bite of California Roll at my favorite Japanese restaurant.  Really, I was.  But I didn’t regret my decision to jump off the wagon.  I needed to regroup, to think this thing over and start SLOWER.  My thinking of going all in on this thing was that I didn’t want to do it in phases.  I wanted to do it once, suffer once, and be done with it.  Get the results I wanted, find out what’s causing these crazy sinus issues.  Boom, Bam, Done!  But even I can’t ignore voice of reason and a growling gut.

So what was a typical day like for me?  Why was I so freaking HUNGRY?

Breakfast: Cream of Rice with almond milk, coconut oil, and a pear/apple.

Snack: More fruit

Lunch: Salmon, Veggies, Arborio Rice with Mushrooms and Cauliflower Sauce

Dinner: Turkey Burger (no bread), beet greens, sweet potato wedges

I hate cutting sweet potatoes because of the dull knives we have in the house, so if you’re like me and only eating for one, you could probably get away with just cutting half of the potato into same size slices.  Make as thick of thin as you want.  Toss onto a baking sheet. (I cover mine with aluminum foil for easy clean up)

Drizzle on the oil.

Sprinkle on the salt, pepper, and your favorite spices.

Coat the potato slices well.

Bake for 25-30 minutes depending on the thickness of your slices.  If you’re only cooking half of the sweet potato, reduce your cooking time to about 20 minutes and check periodically.  Temperatures may vary depending on your oven.

Brain fog slowly clearing, having old memories (good), nostalgia, single days, new beginning, something’s happening.  I’m actually doing okay.

Standard

Leave a Reply

