Test Kitchen: Powder Power I

So I’ve been thinking about buying protein powder again for breakfast shakes.  I’ve tried some in the past that tasted freakin’ fantastic.  Almost like drinking a milkshake.  While others were just hell-no-I’m-never-trying-that-again.  My search for the next best thing led me to the wonderful world of Amazon.  After venturing into the world of Prime for less than a minute, filtering through endless list of options, I couldn’t find the strength to pick my bottom lip up from off the floor.  Maybe I’ve been out of the protein powder loop for a while, but is it me or have these manufacturers lost their minds?  They want 60 bucks for a jar of powder?

Hillary Clinton shock

I quickly opened up another tab and began to search for DIY protein powders and after reading through several recipes, I wanted to kick myself.  Why didn’t I think to do this before?  These recipes include all natural ingredients that are simple and inexpensive.  I’m pretty resourceful.  I have plenty of protein options in my kitchen already: hemp seeds, garbanzo beans, lentils, almonds, walnuts….and the list goes on.  Now I know my makeshift powder won’t taste anything like the fingerlickin’ goodness I’ve tried in the past…

Or will it?

Testing

1/3 cup hemp seeds

1/3 cup oats

1/8 cup lentils

Want to know how it turned out?  Stay tuned to find out…

Photo Courtesy of:

http://israelmatzav.blogspot.com/2010/10/jaw-dropping-statement-of-day.html

Standard

Leave a Reply

