Uncategorized

Gluten-Freak

I have to confess that I haven’t been focusing so much on losing weight these past few months.  In May, I was totally stoked and energetic about cutting calories (well, not really) and getting fit with Shaun T, but then I realized that I’ve got bigger problems.  My food is attacking me.  At first I thought that if I made a few adjustments, ate less dairy, less cookies, less this and that, I would start to feel better.  That didn’t work as well I would have liked.  Folks, when you’re waking up every morning with stomach pains and there’s no pill that can make it all better, there’s really only a few ways to rectify the situation.  One, start from scratch!

Crazy_Sexy_Diet-333x400

I did a cleanse last year from the CrazySexyDiet book by Kris Carr and had amazing results, but I had the discipline then.  I wasn’t living with my soul and foodmate at the time so I wasn’t easily influenced by temptation (love you, Baldy).  In other words, I was a badass-juicing-raw-vegan-gluten-and-dairy-free-running-strength-training-detoxing machine.  Mentally and physically, I was in the zone.  My energy levels were super high, I felt sexy, and unstoppable.  Then my 21 days were up and I had a hard time keeping up the new lifestyle.  I wasn’t ready to go completely vegan let alone raw vegan.  Day by day, I began to slip back into my old habits.  I gained all of the weight I lost and then some.  Not because the detox sucked, but my inner rebel resurfaced and I wanted what I wanted, when I wanted it.  Helloooooo, cupcakes!

The good thing about the cleansing program is that I kept some of those healthy habits and found that I really enjoyed juicing.  I continue to juice several times a month and oddly enough, my body never looked at dairy the same.  I still eat a little bit here and there, but it’s not the star of my food dreams anymore and thank goodness for that.

The point of this post is that I need to detox again.  It’s possible that gluten is trying to kill me and I think the stomach pains and feeling crappy is my body’s way of saying it needs a break and soon.  It’s going to be a challenge, but one worth trying.  Decisions, decisions.  Am I ready to do this again?

Sweat.Eat.Transform.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Freak

Leave a Reply

