Chocolate Cookie Dough Dip made with Chickpeas

For those who know me, they are already aware that I am the queen of anything cookie dough.  Cookie dough cupcakes, cookie dough candy, cookie dough ice cream, cookie dough cookie dough.  You know, I’m still on the lookout for the perfect cookie dough donut.   I prefer to make my own, but I’m open to other possibilities.  Is there a such thing as healthy cookie dough?

I like to think outside of the box, but there is no way in the world that I could have come up with something as clever as this.  Thanks to one of the most creative young ladies of the cyber world, I was able to bring this exciting recipe to you.  I made a few modifications given the supplies that were available at the time, but I must give credit where credit is due.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give you my version of the awesome No Sugar Cookie Dough Dip inspired by Chocolate-Covered Katie, the Healthy Dessert blog.

VID00191

Chocolate Cookie Dough Dip with Almonds

(Adapted from: chocolatecoveredkatie.com )

1 1/2 cups chickpeas
heaping 1/8 tsp salt
tiny bit over 1/8 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp plus 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup almond butter or nut butter of your choice
1 and 1/4 cups pitted dates
1-2 tsp unsweetened coco powder
2 tbsp coconut flour or oats
1/2 cup almond milk of choice plus more (depending on the consistency you want. I used a few tbsp.)

*Almonds or walnuts for garnish (optional)

*1/3 cup sugar-free chocolate chips (optional)

  1. Soak dates overnight or at least 8 hours in 1/2 cup of almond milk.  Place in the refrigerator to keep from spoiling.
  2. After dates are soaked, combine all ingredients, except almonds and chocolate chips, in food processor or blender.  Katie suggests using a food processor over blender.  I used a Vitamix and would recommend adjusting the power and adding more almond milk until desired consistency.
  3. After mixture is to your liking, pour into a bowl and stir in chocolate chips.  Top with more chocolate chips or nuts for garnish.
  4. Enjoy!

Enjoy this dip with:

Gingersnaps

Graham Cracks

Apple Slices

On top of pancakes

On top of frozen yogurt

Heck, just eat it by the spoonful……!

Standard

Leave a Reply

