Uncategorized

Day 12 & 13: Date Night w/ Treats

churros-60

I am a very busy lady these days, but there’s always time for Baldy and smooches.  I decided to go out for dinner this weekend for the first time since starting this program in order to see how I would behave when out in the ‘real world.’  You know, I still have a lot to work on, but I’m doing pretty darn good.  Now, I’ve never been one to turn down a churro and I definitely didn’t turn down one this weekend.  Instead of eating the entire thing, I gave half to my sweetie.  I must admit that it wasn’t as good this time around and I think it’s mainly due to the fact that my palate has graduated from juvenile things to awesomeness a.k.a. ‘real food.’

datenight

Okay, well maybe I should back up for a second.  The churro was a sweet treat after our monthly grocery haul at Cosco.   However, Baldy and I decided to go out and watch the new Brad Pitt movie, World War Z.  Great movie, by the way!  I’m very proud to say that I opted not to eat the Nestle Crunch candy that calls out my name every time we pass the concession stand.  I snuck in some baby carrots and edamame.  The lady sitting next to me during the movie also snuck in some goodies.  Fresh fruit.  Way to go, Mystery Lady!  After having my Brad Pitt fix, we got dinner and once again the rules went out the window.  Spinach Quiche, beet salad, roasted vegetables and a few pita bread slices.  Oh, we also shared a pecan pie bar.  Again, it wasn’t as great as I thought it would be!

images (1)

I had dairy and bread for dinner and it was no big deal.  It didn’t kill me and I enjoyed it.  I created the fingerlickinnutrition “guidelines” to give me direction, not as a means of control.  Trust me, there aren’t any little green broccoli men swooping down from food heaven spanking my hands every time I eat something that’s ‘bad’ for me.  I’m learning to make logical decisions that will serve me well beyond these 60 days.  So far, I’m liking the results and I don’t feel stressed.  Now if only I could hire someone to cook the rest of these meals for me.  That would be awesome with a capital A!  Tomorrow I’m back in the kitchen and burning the floor with Shaun T.  Am I Insane or what?

Healthy Journey!

Standard

Leave a Reply

