Day 1: fingerlickinNutrition Kickoff

FlN cover

Good Morning, World!

Yesterday, was the start of my fingerlickinNutrition program.  There was a lot of prep work, cooking, and of course, cleaning.  Ughh…..with a capital U!  But, all of the work was worth the effort.  I made a few tweaks here and there, but honestly, the day went by pretty smoothly.  I knew I was on the right track when I got hungry every few hours.  Thinking back to my former life, just two days ago, whenever I would eat butt loads of junk my body always felt full and toxic.  Who wants to feel like that all of the time?  How miserable.  I’m on a journey to become healthier one step at a time even if that means I have to become my own trainer and nutritionist.

I’m not big on counting calories, but I did pre-calculate the calories in each meal several weeks before starting this program because I wanted to make sure that each meal packed enough energy and nutrients.  The awesome thing about this program is that I have a lot of good recipes and I can choose from my list and know that I’m going to be okay.  It’s like ordering from a “health food” menu in my very own kitchen.  Okay, so now you’re wondering how this whole thing works right?

My primary goal with the fingerlickinNutrition program is to choose and make a variety of nutritious and delicious recipes that are easy to prepare and affordable. I designed this program to not only be a great source while doing the Insanity program for a second time, but to also push me to cook more and eat healthier even after my 60 days of kicking butt with Shaun T are up.  Some may think this program is extreme and would probably say, ” Why don’t you just cut out the junk?”  Simple as that right?  Well, not for me.  If I could afford a fitness trainer/nutritionist I would absolutely do it, but money doesn’t grow on trees, People.  So I decided to do some research, use my past experiences of weight loss, and education in health to try something new.  I like having a guide and some structure when it comes to certain aspects of my life and you know, if this whole thing doesn’t work out, there’s always  Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers!  I just choose to do my own thing for now if that makes any sense!

Getting back to this fingerlickinNutrition fiasco.  There are a few guidelines that I thought would be helpful.

flN guide

Fingerlickin Guidelines:                                                                                 

  • No white (sugar, flour, rice, bread,etc.)
  • No dairy*
  • No artificial ingredients, preservatives, processed, refined
  • No fast food or alcohol
  • Limit packaged/boxed foods with unrecognizable ingredients*
  • Only vegetables and protein dinners (no whole grains)
  • Only seafood, tofu, seitan, tempeh, soy*
  • Only whole grains
  • Protein at every meal*
  • 5-6 small meals a day*
  • 2-3 Liters of water a day*
  • Protein meal replacements allowed daily (Think Shakeology or protein smoothies)
  • 7-8 hours of sleep each night
  • Each day set 3 health, self-improvement goals

I guess many people would say this is basically clean eating and yeah, it is for the most part.  However, I like ice cream and I like bread baskets with butter so in the long run a no-dairy lifestyle without a treat from time to time is not within my genetics.  Moderation, moderation, moderation!

032

Fingerlickin Meals

My guide has several tabs that includes:

  • Smoothies/Juices
  • Wraps/Sandwiches
  • Soups
  • Salads
  • Snacks
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Dessert (No, your eyes are not deceiving you!Sweet treats!)
  • Condiments/Dressings
  • Extra Meal Ideas

Most of these meals are between 350-400 calories and have some form of protein and vegetable/fruit.  I have the option to mix and match.

035036037

There’s also a Fingerlickin Weekly Meal Planner/Grocery/Budget List.  As I choose my meals for the week, I can flip the page over and create my grocery list.  Rule #1 no matter what plan you choose to follow, always shop at home first before you head out to the grocery store.  Sometimes we have what we need in the pantry or can find a substitute ingredient in there, but for some reason we like to start from scratch anytime we go on a new diet/plan.  I’m sure the sea salt from the previous diet is the same as the sea salt from the one you’re about the try.  Shopping at home first saves money and time.

040042

The guide also includes the Insanity workout calendar and a tab for new ideas and goals.

There, it’s not so bad right?  Maybe more work than most would put into a fitness/health program, but who knows, maybe this is the start to something great.  Honestly, there are people who do this kind of work everyday and get paid for it.  I guess the payment for me is getting awesome results!  Let the journey continue!

Standard

Leave a Reply

